The “Golden” Spiral

"Rule of Thirds" Alley

This one comes to you from the Alanis Morissette “IRONIC” files… I had tagged along on the Scott Kelby Worldwide Photowalk in Auckland and had a fantastic time meeting other photogs… The problem many of us faced was how to capture something unique and interesting on a drab day in an all-too-familiar setting… I took a whole bunch of pretty average shots… train lines, statues, walls, and the like… It wasn’t until I got back to the cafe afterwards that I realised that I had left my camera on ISO 3200 from a little experiment the night before!!! What a dork! Anyways – this was one of the shots I submitted into the competition and blow me down if it didn’t end up winning and going into the INTERNATIONAL competition! I was pretty stoked!!!

It just goes to show, sometimes our stupidist moments can turn into something cool! 🙂

ISO 3200 – 1/17s at unknown aperture – comes from using the 1978 50mm f1.4 lens with no chip in it!

Leave a Reply

