#1/365 – What’s REALLY Important…

Media_httpfarm4static_bfcbf

my beautiful girl
Here it is… the very first step of this journey and I must admit – I deliberated long and hard over this one!!! Over a coffee on the North Shore yesterday, I sat with someone that is very important to me and was chatting about this little project and what I hope to achieve or “GET” out of the whole thing… I DON’T want this to be about “look at me – I can take photos…” or “look at me – I can write words in sentences and paragraphs…” I want this project to be simply about growing.The last few years of my life have pretty much whizzed by and I freely admit to feeling a bit swept away by the pace of the change in my life and family… To have ‘survived’ is awesome – but I don’t want to settle for SURVIVE, when there is the possibility of THRIVE! I want the next 365 days to be about INTENTIONALLY being a part of my community, my family and the world I live in… I want to learn to be more deliberate in relationships and also in the choices that I make.As I sat in the sun sipping a mochaccino in the cafe, I joked with my friend that wouldn’t it be fantastic to start this project by capturing a majestic sunset symbolising a new day dawning in my life… we both agreed that this might just be more cheesy than a big mac with extra cheese!My first pic then, is representative of everything I hold dear… Emily is definitely someone that has come into my life to teach me about Love. As I write – she has walked in to my office/studio/spare bedroom and touched my guitar, turned around to look at me and said in the cutest voice you ever will hear – “Da-Dee”, Just writing it brings shivers! I think it is awesome to have someone in your life that you don’t have to convince with a long list of reasons why they should love you… I could try, but 5 words in she would lose interest! all I have to do is pick her up when she walks up to me – and that scores me a hug and a kiss!!! She is a little love-machine I tell you!I hope that there is someone in your life like Emily. That no matter what we have been through, no matter what we do – offers their love freely to us. I want to be that type of person – but as we all know – it’s a struggle! I am forever grateful for my faith and the very fact that what is offered to me in choosing to follow Jesus Christ – is a free gift of this kind of love. Not the bondage of religion, but a new-fangled kind of love that changes lives, worlds and hearts!I promise that this project WON’T be 365 photos of Emily… 🙂 IT would be tempting though… 😉

2 thoughts on “#1/365 – What’s REALLY Important…

  1. Congrats on getting off the mark with your first of 365. Good luck with sticking it through. Your feeds in my reader, so I’ll be following with interest.

  2. good luck al!I have a six month old daughter so I can only agree with your sentiments about emily.Your definitely starting this project with the right attititude.Cheers.J

Leave a Reply

