#2/365 – Blue Skies, Shining on Me… ladedadeda…

Blue Skies Shining on ME
Blue Skies Shining on ME

I think there are tons of things in life that we take for granted – things that are always there, part of the furniture of our life… I think it is an unfortunate thing about our human-ness that we have a tendancy to take things for granted… I travel a lot for work and it never ceases to amaze me how much of the landscape and city around me I happily drive past in a state where familiarity has bred contempt…

When Christine and I lived in England, we would forever stop and wonder at buildings, gardens, landmarks that the locals never knew were interesting! I remember a churchyard in the Cotswolds where we snapped off a ton of pictures of gravestones, statues and even the doorknob of the church in awe of the history that we just simply don’t have in New Zealand… The church was down a back-road from the main part of town, and I highly suspect that the people in the town hardly ever set foot there! This really challenges me to appreciate what is around me. In New Zealand we may not have the architecture or history that is so prevalent in other parts of the world – but we do have a natural and ancient beauty in those parts of our country that remain untouched… I value this more from having travelled around a bit of the world now!

I travel over the Harbour bridge fairly frequently and it never ceases to amaze me how much a touch of blue sky makes things that are so familiar appear more beautiful than normal… Today was a stunning day in Auckland, and I am not sure if it was that, or the fact that I had 2 meetings this morning with people that really know what it is to make a difference in the world – but everything was looking rosy this afternoon! I really appreciate it when you stumble across people that really see the glass as half full… that don’t want to settle for just ‘existing’ in this life… they see opportunities around every corner and seem to be in tune with the needs of the people around them… that is something that motivetes, inspires and encourages me! šŸ™‚

One thought on “#2/365 – Blue Skies, Shining on Me… ladedadeda…

Leave a Reply

