#114/365 – When Kiwi Eyes are Smiling

Media_httpfarm4static_sbkjp

It never ceases to amaze me how much my day is brightened up by the two women in my life… Firstly, spending a fantastic time this morning with Emily as Christine was at work… we had breakfast together and it was a HEAP of fun… As you can see above, Emily was even chewing her food with a huge smile in her Eyes… Just looking at this picture fills me with an amazing awe at all that has been provided for me in life… a happy home, a beautiful wife and a daughter that has me wrapped around her finger. I think that she is going through a bit of a daddy phase at the moment – she chases me around the house and we just have the best fun running after each other – I know she is pretty keen on me when I am chasing her – she never really runs away – I get on my hands and knees and make a RARRGH noise – and she rushes over and gives me the hugest cuddle. I am rather fond of her!

Having just watched the DVD of Jumping in Puddles last evening – I pray that every second I am blessed to have Emily and Christine in my life I learn to treasure! I have been really touched by the story of the Bray family recently – through reading Andy Bray’s book and now through seeing the Jumping in Puddles documentary. A family should never have to endure so much – but life has dealt a fair few blows to this family and through it all, they have maintained a rock-solid faith and publicly journeyed through what can only be the darkest of times we could ever fear to face. I would really encourage you to buy Andy’s book – it helps you gain perspective and focus on what really matters. The Documentary title is about young Natasha Bray and her friend Portia’s attitude to the things we face in life that scare the living daylights out of us – things may be scary, but let’s go jump in puddles… make the most of every situation. After reading so much of the Bray family’s recent and ongoing situations – it gives me a new-found appreciation for the things I have. I don’t want to take a second of this life’s existence for granted. I am going to be someone that appreciates the big and the small things that go on around me – and if life throws things my way that are hard – I am going to be someone that happily faces up to the situation and jumps in puddles.

Earlier on I wrote that the two girls in my life brighten my day… first was Emily with her cheery spirit and secondly – and in light of my new-found appreciation of the big and the small things in life – my lovely wife made me a PERFECT cup of coffee tonight. I love it that she offered me a coffee, and then to present it with not one, but TWO tim-tams is just amazing! πŸ™‚ (I think I am going to have to be careful I don’t start sounding like MR Kerrigan from THE CASTLE – “What do you call this love?” “It’s a SPONGE cake” – “Well it’s not just what it is, it’s how you’ve presented it – with the icing sugar…” – VERY ROUGH PARAPHRASE)

4 thoughts on “#114/365 – When Kiwi Eyes are Smiling

  1. Emily is changing in looks… quite a marked change to her face I think. She is beautiful. Nanna Lois

  2. I'm glad to see this child that smiles while eating and he's really cute. It is great that you have happy relationship between your family.

Leave a Reply

