The Hole in our Gospel – A book Review

Media_httpbrbthomasne_muygh

Life is a wrestling match between how we KNOW we should live, and what we have slowly settled into in our search for the familiar and comfortable. We have household devices that provide us with instant results and unfortunately, a lot of this has trickled down into our lives as followers of Jesus. The Hole in our Gospel challenges us to make the most of our time on Earth, taking opportunities to merge our life with the things that Jesus was passionate about – issues of Justice, Poverty and loving those around us.If I am truly honest with you, I like to read books that make me squirm… books that when you pick them up, you can’t just put them down again without it tugging away at your insides. I had hoped beyond ALL hope that “The Hole in our Gospel” would be such a book as this, and THANKFULLY, it delivered big-time! I can’t wait to be a part of a community that places more value on LOVING PEOPLE than in having a great time on a Sunday. I can’t wait for the church in the West, to match the excitement, passion and sense of urgency that we see being lived out in less “spoiled” circumstances. I highly recommend this book and hope that you will race out and grab your copy today – but don’t expect your life to stay the same!!!I have reviewed this book as part of the Thomas Nelson Book Review Blogger Programme – http://brb.thomasnelson.com/I would love to hear your comments on this, especially if you have read the book as well! πŸ™‚ See below! πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “The Hole in our Gospel – A book Review

  1. Hi Al,<br> <br>Glad to run across your site… I haven't read the book yet but my wife (who has purchased the book and will read it) and I are getting stirred up because of a series our church is doing based on the book. Ironically, I happened to be researching World Vision to help runaways; only to discover that the president, Richard Sterns, wrote this book. I also read about Bill Hybels, senior pastor at a church near Chicago (where I used to attend) loved this book so much he bought 10,000 copies for his congregation to read.<br> <br>A reporter heard from law enforcement that the runaway situation has reached 'epidemic proportion'. I imagine I face a similar prompting CEO, Richard Stearns had when he wrote 'Hole in the Gospel'. I was one of those 'proportions'; statistics, runaways, throwaway children or whatever you want to call it/me. We need books/people (maybe one's that 'make you squirm') to help motivate, bring alternatives, better choices, integrity and ethics back into the lives that have been misplaced or gotten comfortable with a so-so existence. <br><br>During a small group (not long ago) based on the book 'Purpose Driven Life', by Rick Warren, I finally realized 'it's not all about me'. That had such a profound affect on me that I wrote about it in my book 'Memoirs of a Runaway: A Story of Hope' (<a href="http://www.outskirtspress.com/memoirs&quot; rel="nofollow">www.outskirtspress.com/memoirs</a>). One of my favorite sayings is 'knowing the right thing to do will not make you as victorious as doing the right thing'. I have to 'obey' my parents, so why not God? I know my parents wanted the best for me… doesn't He? <br><br>I also creating a web site dedicated to finding 'fans' of people that will help me help runaways <a href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/Memoirs-of-a-Runaway/151492364344&quot; rel="nofollow">http://www.facebook.com/pages/Memoirs-of-a-Runa…</a> . Besides continuing dedication and research–I hope to incorporate the teachings and desires of Richards book. I had to make a conscious choice to obey my Father (heavenly or earthly), and when I choose to DO that, my life has only gotten better… maybe not easier, but definitely better… it all starts by helping someone else. If someone is drowning, or burning in front of you would we stand there and watch? I think we would care enough to help. If we don't there is no question there's a 'hole in our gospel' !!

  2. Hi Al,<br> <br>Glad to run across your site… I haven't read the book yet but my wife (who has purchased the book and will read it) and I are getting stirred up because of a series our church is doing based on the book. Ironically, I happened to be researching World Vision to help runaways; only to discover that the president, Richard Sterns, wrote this book. I also read about Bill Hybels, senior pastor at a church near Chicago (where I used to attend) loved this book so much he bought 10,000 copies for his congregation to read.<br> <br>A reporter heard from law enforcement that the runaway situation has reached 'epidemic proportion'. I imagine I face a similar prompting CEO, Richard Stearns had when he wrote 'Hole in the Gospel'. I was one of those 'proportions'; statistics, runaways, throwaway children or whatever you want to call it/me. We need books/people (maybe one's that 'make you squirm') to help motivate, bring alternatives, better choices, integrity and ethics back into the lives that have been misplaced or gotten comfortable with a so-so existence. <br><br>During a small group (not long ago) based on the book 'Purpose Driven Life', by Rick Warren, I finally realized 'it's not all about me'. That had such a profound affect on me that I wrote about it in my book 'Memoirs of a Runaway: A Story of Hope' (<a href="http://www.outskirtspress.com/memoirs&quot; rel="nofollow">www.outskirtspress.com/memoirs</a>). One of my favorite sayings is 'knowing the right thing to do will not make you as victorious as doing the right thing'. I have to 'obey' my parents, so why not God? I know my parents wanted the best for me… doesn't He? <br><br>I also creating a web site dedicated to finding 'fans' of people that will help me help runaways <a href="http://www.facebook.com/pages/Memoirs-of-a-Runaway/151492364344&quot; rel="nofollow">http://www.facebook.com/pages/Memoirs-of-a-Runa…</a> . Besides continuing dedication and research–I hope to incorporate the teachings and desires of Richards book. I had to make a conscious choice to obey my Father (heavenly or earthly), and when I choose to DO that, my life has only gotten better… maybe not easier, but definitely better… it all starts by helping someone else. If someone is drowning, or burning in front of you would we stand there and watch? I think we would care enough to help. If we don't there is no question there's a 'hole in our gospel' !!

  3. Hey Michael… Thanks heaps for sharing… sounds like the projects you work with really make a difference! :)Many blessings and All the best!Al

Leave a Reply

