#336/365 – Smiling is infectious

Media_httpfarm3static_nxyqq

I have been feeling a little bit numb these last few days… My friend Jared from way back on day 93 has unfortunately shared some news with us all that we never hoped would come about. He has had a bit of a turn for the worse, and the prognosis is looking fairly bleak. I can’t imagine what this must be like or how one copes with this type of thing, and I would never even try to attempt to explain it either… but if you read what Jared writes, his honesty, open-ness and articulate writing will help you understand what facing up to terminal illness is all about…

In times like this, I remember clearly a line from Shawshank Redemption (and sorry if I have already mentioned this in a previous post) “You can get busy living, or you can get busy dying”. Jared is a man who has no idea of the number of days that lie ahead of him… From what I know of him, I can assure you that each of those days will be a precious gift of 86400 seconds that will not be wasted sitting around waiting for the unknown… Jared’s faith is his rock at this time I know that Jared and Hannah would value your prayers and support.

I whole-heartedly encourage you to follow the coming weeks, months and hopefully years on his blog as he wrestles with things that may make us laugh, cry and HOPEFULLY cherish the life and opportunities that we have been given…

My darling Emily is fantastic to have around our home. She truly lives each day with awe and wonder at the world around her as she comes across new and exciting things on a daily basis. To see a child discover the world around them is a source of joy and encouragement… Emily is always quick with a smile, with a cuddle and has a very sensitive little heart… she cries at the right moments in sad movies and chuckles at her own incoherent jokes… I am grateful that she is in our lives and I DON’T take it for granted that she is a treasure entrusted to us to nurture and encourage.

My friend’s situation inspires me to be the best Dad, Husband and “active-participant-in-the-world-around-me” that I can be… Taking each day as a new opportunity to love the people that cross my path…

2 thoughts on “#336/365 – Smiling is infectious

Leave a Reply

