#354/365 – Lighthouse in Awhitu

Media_httpfarm3static_ksbsh

The Lighthouse at Awhitu looks out over the site of the sinking of the Orpheus in the late 1800s. To this day it remains the largest Maritime Disaster in New Zealand’s history with 189 people killed when the boat hit the Manukau Bar. Even now the waters appear very uninviting and I am forever glad that growing up in the town in NZ farthest from the sea has forever decreased the likelihood that I would want to pursue a career as a sea-captain. Although, I reckon I could do it, cos I watched Titanic and surely I couldn’t be worse than that guy!? The man I was standing next to was dreaming of taking his family down the coast on a concrete boat… I think I will stick to dreams that don’t involve navigating treacherous waters and cement…

Leave a Reply

